About the museum
Wimbledon is fortunate in having had a number of influential residents throughout its history who were determined to understand and conserve its rich heritage. At the turn of the nineteenth century the most notable of these was Richardson Evans who created The John Evelyn Club in 1903 with that express aim, naming it in honour of the seventeenth century diarist and "patron saint" of conservation. His vast collection of items relating to Wimbledon eventually overran his house so in 1916 a formal museum was established on the top floor of the Village Hall. This remains the heart of the museum today. Since then both institutions have undergone several name changes but remain two vibrant elements of local life The Wimbledon Society and The Museum of Wimbledon.
The museum is staffed entirely by volunteers and receives no external funding - relying on donations from visitors who are fascinated by the varied collections on view and bookshop sales. It is open every weekend afternoon from 2:30pm to 5pm and also during special events. Here we can put on view some, but by no means all, of the items from our comprehensive Collections. Additionally we offer a variety of community services such as hosting school visits, taking the museum out to less mobile groups and providing expert speakers.